American Designers Reflect on American Fashion

You can now watch the film that opened up the CFDA Awards last night, 50 Years of the CFDA.  A “half film, half art collage” directed by Zoe Cassavetes, the video features Michael Kors, Anna SuiDiane Von FurstenbergVera Wang and others sharing their thoughts on American fashion and their favorite designers.  Truly inspirational.  Check out the video at  T Magazine

American Designers Reflect on American Fashion

And in case you missed it, here’s a list of the winners from last night:

Womenswear Designers of the Year: The Row’s Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen
Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid
Accessory Designer of the Year: Reed Krakoff
Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra
Swarovski Award for Menswear: Phillip Lim
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Tabitha Simmons
International Award: Rei Kawakubo
Media Award: Garance Dor? and Scott Schuman
Founders Award: Andrew Rosen
Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger